Group of companies Open global navigation Open menu


Treble directors' award win for Honeyman

04 October 2010

Sheffield Forgemasters' chief executive Graham Honeyman was a treble winner in the Institute of Directors national awards.

Dr Honeyman was named the first IoD "Overall Director of the Year", "Global Director of the Year" and winner of "The Investing for Growth Award" sponsored by Clydesdale Bank and Yorkshire Bank.

Dr Honeyman said: "I am overwhelmed by this triple awards honour. It is one of the proudest moments of my career.

"I thought it was a possibility we could pick up one award but never in my wildest dreams did I think we would win all three.

"The company was in trouble back in 2002 but a lot of hard work by myself and colleagues has helped to turn it around and provide a profitable and dynamic future for our many employees."

Graham has worked for Sheffield Forgemasters for many years in a director capacity but took on the role of chief executive in 2005 after leading a management buy-out of the company. Since the MBO, turnover has risen from £38m to £117m with only an extra 25% increase in numbers employed.

The organisation has capitalised on new global markets winning influential contracts with Chinese, Indian and Russian companies and expanding with the launch of two new subsidiary companies - Vulcan SFM and Steel Propeller.

IoD director-general Miles Templeman paid tribute to Dr Honeyman and the success of Sheffield Forgemasters.

He said: "I would like to extend my warmest congratulations to Graham. He is an outstanding winner and I wish him and Sheffield Forgemasters more success over the years to come.

"It is great to see a UK manufacturing firm thriving and exporting. We too often forget that manufacturing is one of the UK's biggest strengths."

Last month, Neil Maskrey, chief financial officer at Sheffield Forgemasters, was named Yorkshire Finance Director of the Year for a Limited Company while fellow SFIL board member Peter Birtles picked up Yorkshire Non Executive Director of the Year at the Institute of Directors' annual regional awards.